Reviews

This post is a thankyou for everyone who posted reviews about mix on Amazon and through other media.  It all started when Mrs Moneypenny wrote a very funny article in the Financial Times.

5.0 out of 5 stars All the basics!, 26 Sep 2008

This is a great little book packed full with all the basics that every cook (or aspiring cook!) should know.

I think it would be excellent gift for those having to fend for themselves for the first time. Also an excellent reference for more established cooks – I’m buying one for my brother & sister-in-law for Christmas.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

5.0 out of 5 stars It’s all about the basics…, 25 Sep 2008

I bought Mix as I have been looking for a mini Mrs Beeton for the modern age for some time. Despite it’s size Mix was packed with information and I was impressed with the extra tips from James McIntosh. It’s going to become an invaluable aid in my kitchen and everyone should have it… especially when you can’t remember how to throw a bearnaise sauce together at the last minute!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

5.0 out of 5 stars Mix is a brilliantly written useful book for any kitchen, 24 Sep 2008
By Mark Russell (London, England) – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)

I am very impressed with this book. It covers a range of the basics that most cookery books leave out, and has a wide range of everyday reciples that any family kitchen would find useful. Mix makes cookery easy for guys like me!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible!, 24 Sep 2008

I received a copy of ‘mix’ from a friend as a gift. Not being the most accomplished cook in the world I always approach a new cookery book a little nervously. There was however no need. mix’s easy to follow and user friendly layout along with the helpful hints of the author peppered throughout meant that it was a pleasure both to read and to use. Definately an indispensible guide to the basics for amateur and professional alike. Can’t wait for the next in the series!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

5.0 out of 5 stars Simplicity itself, 22 Sep 2008

This is an excellent book. I have bought it now on 5 different occassions as everytime I got a copy into my hands I ended up giving it away. It is so useful, the folk who have gone off with it have not been what you would describe as “Cooks,” but they recognise in Mix a book that is simplicity itself and are producing the goods every time they try.Well done for producing something which is so accessible and inclusive in its approach.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little book, 9 Sep 2008

This is a truly great little book. It is well laid out and deals with the basics of cooking that will help improve the cooking skills of almost every level of home cook. It is written in a a nice easy going manner without being condescending (take note Delia). Most importantly, rather than following the current trend of whacky recipes and telling the reader what the author thinks they should be eating, this book helps the reader learn how to cook classic dishes and sauces and to become a better cook.

It is also lots cheaper than most other recipe books and I would recommend you consider buying this before buying any other book on the market at the moment.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

5.0 out of 5 stars How to mix.. and so much more, 5 Sep 2008
By Wendy Fisher (King’s Lynn, Norfolk) – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)

Really enjoyed getting my hands on this – a clear, concise and easy to handle book containing so much more than it appeared it would. Great as a reference for so many basic recipes, and also to help teach these to my daughters who will also find it of great use as they learn to do more in the kitchen

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant little book, 4 Sep 2008

A little book packed with a big punch. Basic down to earth, common sense approach to cooking. Mix is the first published book of four books being written by James and it is full of useful recipes with sensible variations and advice thrown in to boot, as well as personal and humerous observations.
This should be the first thing that anxious parents pop into their beloved offspring’s luggage when they go off to university for the first time, but then again never too late for that little gift to make sure they eat properly even later in their academic life!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise and no nonsense, 4 Sep 2008
By Mrs. H. J. Grimes (Jersey Channel Islands) – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)

I was unsure when I ordered this book as it is for my cookery students. It is smaller than I expected, but this adds to its charm. The book is clear, concise and totally practical. It has options for those using electric, fan ovens, gas, aga and rayburns so no special variation books needed. The recipes are the basics we all love, and some great comfort food in there such as custard, steamed pudding, pavlova, stuffing, shepherd’s pie and casserole. I can honestly say that I would recommend this book to anyone, the instructions are clear and relevant and ingredients are normal and easy to find (if they are not in your cupboard already). I am excited about the next three books in this series. Well done James.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? YesNo

Bookworms Blog also gave mix a great write up

Newconsumer.com said stuff too!

so did aga-links and the Food and Farming Network as well as lifestartsat.com and The Baby Website

not forgetting my publishers blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

AlphaOmega Captcha Classica  –  Enter Security Code